Just for you…Mum!

May 22, 2011

Yes, Mother’s Day was two weeks ago.  I’ve been remiss.  I did, however, manage to get both little stitchy pieces finished in time for the big day, even if I wound up putting in the last ten French knots the morning of.  It was worth the stress, though, and the end result was… ïжак!

(I can’t remember how to ask where the train station is, for example, but ïжак , I remember.  Oy.)

I found this Margaret Sherry design in an issue of Cross Stitcher magazine and knew that I had to do it up.  I did it on 28-count evenweave rather than aida, mainly to make the crazy backstitch just a little easier – and did this ever pay off the night before Mother’s Day, as I was frantically working the lettering.

And lo and behold, Mill Hill released new spring kits in plenty of time for me to stitch one:

This one was from the kitties.  🙂  The kit came with a magnet, but no one would ever get to see it on the fridge, so I finished it as a hanging ornament instead and backed it with some holographic paper I found in my scrapbooking stash.

(As always, clicking on the photos will make them larger – thanks for looking!)

2 Responses to “Just for you…Mum!”

  1. Mary W Says:

    I came across this post about the cross stitcher magazine you used to make the hedgehog for Mother’s Day. I am looking for that cross stitch design to make for a good friend. Do you happen to remember what issue that is from? Thank you in advance for your help.

    • wittychild Says:

      Hi Mary! I thumbed through my magazine collection, but don’t appear to have that issue any longer and can’t recall the issue number. However, I did find the design pinned on Pinterest, so you may want to check there. Good luck with your search!


Leave a Reply

